Ken Cowan plays Liszt on the organ at First Baptist Jackson

Original price was: $18.95.Current price is: $4.99.

Recording of the Quimby Pipe Organ at First Baptist Jackson. Ken Cowan plays organ works and transcriptions by Franz Liszt.

In stock

SKU: 186 Categories: ,


Ken Cowan is featured playing the 155-rank Quimby pipe organ at First Baptist Jackson, performing a program of organ works by Franz Liszt and transcriptions of his music for other instruments. From the sublime beauty of the two “Consolations in D-flat” and “Liebestraume No. 3”, to the breadth and power of the epic “Fantasia on Ad nos, ad salutarum undam”, all elements of this monumental Quimby pipe organ are explored. Jean Guillou’s arrangement of “Prometheus”, a tone poem for full orchestra, is a scintillating tour de force for the instrument and performer alike. Included is Mr. Cowan’s own arrangement of Liszt’s “Prelude and Fugue on B-A-C-H”, which synthesizes material from the composer’s 1870 organ version as well as Liszt’s brilliant 1871 arrangement for piano. Liszt’s organ works are extraordinarily well-served by the Quimby pipe organ at First Baptist Church in Jackson, Mississippi. Conceived in the American Symphonic tradition of organ building, the instrument offers a vast range of timbres and dynamic possibilities, giving great depth and impact to Liszt’s organ music, which is written on a grand scale. This recording comes with extensive documentation: an essay about the pipe organ, notes on the music, stoplist and numerous photos.

  Name Composer
1 Prometheus, S. 99 Franz Liszt
2 Consolation No. 3 in D-flat, S. 172 Franz Liszt
3 Consolation No. 4 in D-flat, S. 172 Franz Liszt
4 Praludium und Fuge uber den Namen B-A-C-H, S. 260 Franz Liszt
5 Liebestraum No. 3, S. 541 Franz Liszt
6 Fantasie und Fuge uber den Choral “Ad nos, ad salutarem undam,” S. 259 Franz Liszt


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Ken Cowan plays Liszt on the organ at First Baptist Jackson”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *