Roger Fisher plays complete organ works of Harold Darke

Original price was: $18.95.Current price is: $4.99.

Recording of the pipe organ at Chester Cathedral in the United Kingdom. Roger Fisher plays the complete organ works of Harold Darke.

In stock

SKU: 137 Categories: ,


The pipe organ at Chester Cathedral was originally built by Whiteley of Chester and was rebuilt, under the direction of Roger Fisher, by Rushworth and Dreaper of Liverpool in 1969/70. It is on this pipe organ that Roger Fisher recorded the organ works of Harold Darke. Darke was born in 1888, studied organ with Walter Parratt and Charles Villiers Stanford, served as organist at St. Michael’s Cornhill from 1916 to 1966. His numerous compositions show the contrapuntal influence of Bach and Mendelssohn. Roger Fisher retired in 1966 as Organist and Master of the Choristers at Chester. Today he concentrates on his career as a recitalist, teacher and advisor on organ construction. Darke’s organ music presented on this disc is symphonic, romantic and contrapuntal by nature. The recording quality reproduces the organ with great clarity but also vividly captures the ambiance of this great cathedral. This recording comes with extensive documentation: an essay about the pipe organ, notes on the music, stoplist and numerous photos.

  Name Composer
1 Suite in d minor: Prelude Harold Darke
2 Suite in d minor: Pastorale Harold Darke
3 Suite in d minor: Toccata Harold Darke
4 Prelude and Fugue on “Heinlein” Harold Darke
5 A Rhapsody, Op. 4 Harold Darke
6 Prelude on “Windsor” Harold Darke
7 Prelude in Memory of Parry Harold Darke
8 Three Hymn Preludes: St. Peter Harold Darke
9 Three Hymn Preludes: Darwall’s 148th Harold Darke
10 Three Hymn Preludes: On a Theme of Tallis Harold Darke
11 A Fantasy Harold Darke
12 Meditation on Brother James’ Air Harold Darke
13 Retrospection Harold Darke


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Roger Fisher plays complete organ works of Harold Darke”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *