Receive Updates!

Join today to get updates on articles, exclusive offers, and more!

We will never spam or sell your information.

Latest Tweets

pipeorgancds @LincsCathedral fourth and fifths make sure there are no inconsistent tempers. Now how many people will get this ;-)

Roger Fisher plays Lemare's First Organ Symphony at Saint Peter's

Lemare's First Symphony for Organ and other organ works recorded by Roger Fisher on the Skinner Organ at Saint Peter's Church in Morristown, New Jersey
Product number: 128A
Sales price: $9.99

The pipe organ built at Saint Peter’s Church in Morristown, New Jersey by the Skinner Organ Company was completed in 1930 and was designed and finished by G. Donald Harrison. This large and complete four-manual pipe organ evinces several subtle differences in design and voicing from the practices of Ernest M. Skinner. The St. Peter’s pipe organ is characterized by a comprehensive tonal palette of gentle, beguiling and varied foundation tones, powerful and harmonically rich reeds, and a clean bright diapason chorus. This pipe organ was fully restored by the A. Thompson-Allen Company. The major work on this recording is Lemare's Symphony in g minor, Op. 35, a four-movement work dating from 1899. Here, amid academic excellence and virtuoso proportions, an opening allegro and final fugue cloak a most eloquent adagio and rambunctious scherzo with power and intensity. Technically taut, cyclically linked, the symphony offers a timely reminder of Lemare’s rich legacy to the organ repertoire. Roger Fisher is a concert organist and lives in Flintshire, England. He was organist at Chester Cathedral and in 1996 took early retirement to play recitals, teach and act as an advisor on pipe organ construction.


This recording comes with extensive documentation: an essay about the pipe organ, notes on the music, stoplist and numerous photos.


There still are a limited number of CDs available for this title.


1 Concert Overture in C Major Alfred Hollins
2 Summer Sketches, Op. 73: The Cuckoo Edwin H. Lemare
3 The Hebrides, Op. 26: Overture Felix Mendelssohn
4 Symphony in g minor, Op. 35: Allegro Moderato Edwin H. Lemare
5 Symphony in g minor, Op. 35: Adagio Cantabile Edwin H. Lemare
6 Symphony in g minor, Op. 35: Scherzo Edwin H. Lemare
7 Symphony in g minor, Op. 35: Finale Edwin H. Lemare

Photographs of the Pipe Organ and Location