Paul-Martin Maki plays the organ at Church of the Heavenly Rest

Original price was: $18.95.Current price is: $4.99.

Recording of the Konzelman/Austin Pipe Organ at the Church of the Heavenly Rest, NYC. Paul Martin-Maki performs organ works by Sibelius, Elgar and Whitlock.

In stock

SKU: 114 Categories: ,


The five-manual Austin pipe organ at Church of the Heavenly Rest, New York City, built in 1929, is featured here in a program of transcriptions—popular concert fare in that time period—and a sonata by Percy Whitlock, composed in 1937. A delightfully whimsical Scherzo enlivens the Whitlock Sonata in C minor, one of the composer€™s most complex organ works. Mendelssohn€’s pastoral Prelude and dramatic Fugue in E minor, originally written for piano, flourishes with the rich sonorities of the pipe organ. Transcriptions of works by Sibelius and Elgar allow Maki to delve into the pipe organ€’s tonal palette, carefully re-worked by the Konzelman Organ Company. The booklet includes a detailed description of the project written by James Konzelman. This recording comes with extensive documentation: an essay about the pipe organ, notes on the music, stoplist and numerous photos.

  Name Composer
1 Caractacus: March Edward Elgar
2 The Swan of Tuonela Jean Sibelius
3 Prelude & Fugue in e minor: Prelude Felix Mendelssohn
4 Prelude & Fugue in e minor: Fugue Felix Mendelssohn
5 Sonata in c minor: Grave-Allegro Percy Whitlock
6 Sonata in c minor: Canzona Percy Whitlock
7 Sonata in c minor: Scherzetto Percy Whitlock
8 Sonata in c minor: Choral Percy Whitlock


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Paul-Martin Maki plays the organ at Church of the Heavenly Rest”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *