Stuart Forster plays Dvorak from the New World in organ transcription


Stuart Forster plays his own transcription of Dvorak’s New World Symphony. Recorded on the Skinner Pipe Organ at Holy Rosary Cathedral in Toledo, Ohio.

Out of stock

Listen on Apple Music
SKU: 113 Category:


The Skinner Pipe Organ at Holy Rosary Cathedral in Toledo, Ohio is one of the most glorious pipe organs designed by Ernest M. Skinner. This recording of the Holy Rosary Cathedral pipe organ features Dvorak’€™s New World Symphony, arranged in an organ transcription by Stuart Forster. It is simply ravishing, and the New World Symphony is a very appropriate choice to honor Skinner’€™s life-long quest of creating an instrument to emulate the expressive potential of the orchestra. With Opus 820, we witness Skinner re-asserting his individual style, while coming to terms with G. Donald Harrison’s plans to make fundamental changes in the artistic direction of the Skinner Organ Company. This pipe organ is the finest remaining unaltered example of Skinner’€™s mature style, and Stuart Forster knows how to get the most out of it. His transcription of Percy Grainger’€™s “Blithe Bells” is an absolute delight. This recording comes with extensive documentation: an essay about the pipe organ, notes on the music, stoplist and numerous photos.

Stuart Forster holds qualifications from Trinity College of Music (London), the University of Sydney, the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, Yale University, and the Graduate Theological Foundation, where his doctorate focused on the congregation’s experience of flow and music within liturgy. A dedicated organist and choir trainer, Dr. Forster’s passion for leading congregational singing has guided his vocation both in the church and as a teacher.

Click here for more information about Stuart Forster

  Name Composer
1 Gothic Toccata Graeme Koehne
2 Blithe Bells, after Bach Percy Grainger
3 Symphonie I: Allegro vivace Louis Vierne
4 The Birds of Aristophanes: Bridal March C. Hubert H. Parry
5 Schubler Chorales: Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme Johann Sebastian Bach
6 Tuba Tune Porter-Brown
7 Symphony IX From the New World: I. Adagio — Allegro molto Antonin Dvorak
8 Symphony IX From the New World: II. Largo Antonin Dvorak
9 Symphony IX From the New World: III. Scherzo: Molto vivace Antonin Dvorak
10 Symphony IX From the New World: IV. Finale: Allegro con fuoco Antonin Dvorak


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Stuart Forster plays Dvorak from the New World in organ transcription”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *